Writer’s Workshop: Soundtrack

Mama's Losin' It
So this week for Writer’s Workshop, I’ll probably do two. Why? BECAUSE I’M AWESOME AND MAMA KAT USED MY SUGGESTION FOR A PROMPT. She wants to brush my hair…even if she won’t admit it right now. So, anyway, I have to support my own prompt which is,
1.) Soundtrack of your life: Pick 10 songs that you would have on a soundtrack for your life, pick a line from each that you most identify with and write a short statement of why this song made it.
And I picked this one because it takes two of my favorite things together, music, and setting music to my life. I’m such a loser. Later I’ll do a second one, just to be fair.

  1. “Breathe Me” by Sia-“Yea I think that I might break/Lost myself again and I feel unsafe”-I found this song a few years ago on a Postsecret video and immediately fell in love with it. After high school I was pretty alone and didn’t let anyone in. It had actually gotten to the extent I just shut anyone new out of my life, and would often make excuses not to get involved with anyone, when honestly what I really needed was someone to talk to.
  2. “Sally’s Song” by Fiona Apple (originally from my favorite movie The Nightmare Before Christmas)-“And will he see how much he means to me?”-One thing I am terrible at is letting someone I care for know exactly how much. It’s gotten me into some trouble, but it’s still something I struggle with. I have a hard time putting myself completely out there, no matter how much time that has been put into it. I feel like if the person doesn’t see it through my actions, then they are ignoring it. I’m working at it.
  3. “Defying Gravity” by Idina Menzel (from Wicked)-“Tell them how I have defied gravity”-I’m a musical whore. Wicked is the absolute greatest book I have ever read and the absolute greatest musical ever. I spend a lot of time playing the bad guy and it sucks, but I’m over it. I’m not here to please other people, I’m here for my husband and my children and if they are happy and proud of me, that’s all that matters. I don’t need others to validate who I am, because I know I’m a good person, no matter how you may paint me.
  4. “Ever the Same” by Rob Thomas-“Just let me hold you while you’re falling apart”-This is actually the song Chris and I walked back down the aisle from. I knew it had to be used for our wedding somehow because it is the perfect definition of our relationship. We’re there when we need each other most and if my life were a movie, this would be the song that played during one of those moments.
  5. “Dream” by Priscilla Ahn-“I asked God who I’m supposed to be”-The first time I heard this song was on my way back from my 20 week ultrasound with Kinley. I still wasn’t pleased with the fact I was pregnant and had a serious case of gender disappointment. When I heard the song, it’s like someone knew how I was feeling and was just letting me know that this is what I was meant to do. I was put on the earth to have babies and raise good children and write. And if I wasn’t, it wouldn’t have happened, but it did.
  6. “I’m Movin’ On” by Rascal Flatts-“I’ve been burdened with blame, trapped in the past for too long”-Who doesn’t want this song on their soundtrack, country fan or not? It’s perfect for when you finally just let go of stupid bs and remember who you are.
  7. “She’s Everything” by Brad Paisley-“She’s a Saturn with a sunroof/With her brown hair a-blown”-Brad Paisley wants you to believe this song is about his wife, but it’s not. It’s about me. Ask my husband. I am this girl that he is singing about, right down to the Saturn with a sunroof (yes, Dinomobile is indeed a Saturn).
  8. “Everything’s Alright” by Motion City Soundtrack-“I’m sick of the things I do when I’m nervous”-You may, or may not have noticed, but it’s safe to say, I’m a little neurotic. I’m obsessive about doing certain things, like the laundry or shaving everyday. If I don’t do certain things a certain way, it’s pretty panic inducing and I really have no control over it.
  9. “My Wish” by Rascal Flatts-“My wish for you/Is that this life becomes all that you want it to”-I first heard this song during my pregnancy with Caitlin and knew immediately that it was meant to be for all my babies.
  10. “Somebody’s Hero” by Jamie O’Neal-“Giving all her love to her was her life’s ambition”-This is the mom I strive to be, and the reason I was put on earth. So that I can raise good people who will be great.

Man, this was actually more difficult than I originally thought!!!

9 Responses

  1. This was very in depth and I must admit, there are a couple I’ve never heard. I’m ashamed because I’m quite the music whore myself :)

    Good soundtrack! I feel ya on “I’m Movin’ On” but I would have to add “Bless the Broken Road.”

    Nice job doing 2 prompts. Brave girl.

  2. My wish is one I like for my boys too.

  3. Everyone is taking my songs!
    “Movin’ On” also speaks to me and I still cry every time I hear it. I think everyone can relate to that song.
    “Here” by Rascal Flats
    “Bless the Broken Road” by Rascal Flats
    “Ever the Same” the most romantic song ever
    “Everything I Own” by Bread because its important not to take our loved ones for granted
    “My Wish” by Rascal Flats, which my kids STILL think I wrote for them and that Rascal Flats stole it.
    “I Hope You Dance” by Leanne Womack
    “One Day” by Matisyahu because it speaks to my idealistic beliefs and values.
    “Pictures Of You” by the Last Goodnight
    “The Rainbow Connection” by good ole’ Kermit the Frog
    “One of These Days” by Tim McGraw.

    Music is my life, I live my life through music, I connect all of my memories to songs. I have probably a good 100 songs that would symbolize my life.

  4. Oh! I LOVE Wicked! LOVED the book, and then the Hubs surprised me with tickets to see the show for my 40th birthday! (yes, I’m OLD). Then I about died when 1) they sang it on Glee and 2) they got Idina Menzel to play Rachel’s mother and coach of the rival glee club.

  5. I’ve loved reading all these posts – so thanks for inspiring it (it was this one you inspired, yes?) I’ve got a ton of new music I need to check out now.

  6. I’ve never met anybody other than my sisters and my best friend that likes Fiona Apple! Yay!

Leave a Reply

