Getting Ready…

It’s been a pretty stellar week, I have to say. Well, for me, poor Chris has been having a terribly difficult week and it’s only Wednesday. Today he discovered I may have another flat tire. Send Chris some love, please?

Anyway…

I will finally admit it, I’m nesting. I’m panicking. I’m doing things that need to be done pending the arrival of Kinley.

I finally got my hospital bag completely packed. I have everything I will possibly need, including my own towels and a couple of coloring books and crayons. That means I have one less thing to worry about now. The other night I realized Caitlin probably needs an overnight bag set up, just in case it turns out we need one. So I got started on hers yesterday and it’s almost completely finished, I just want to get a fresh bottle, cup, toothbrush, etc. Plus, I want to write her a little letter for my sister to read to her while I’m gone. As I realize she needs an overnight bag, you know who else I realize needs an overnight bag? Chris. It’s like as soon as I think of one thing, I think of a million others. So his is after her’s is finished, but his is relatively simple.

I’m trying to feel super prepared, but let’s face it, I don’t. I feel horribly unprepared still. I’m 32 weeks and a handful of days, but I began with Caitlin at 34 and gave birth at 36. So let’s put out there the fact that I’ve been having ungodly amounts of irregular back contractions that are excruciatingly painful and have been radiating into my abdomen. It doesn’t make me feel like he’s sticking in there too well. Luckily, I still feel him moving around which does make me feel better (with Caitlin she had just stopped).

He really just needs to hold in there, I’ve been drinking a lot of water to avoid dehydration and have just been trying to take it easy, but my uterus still has a mind of its own. I’m thinking my uterus is the main girl from Mean Girls, she’s just a huge bitch. Anyway…

In the coming weeks I’ll be sitting with my legs crossed and getting prepared for our annual kids big birthday bash in three weeks. I need to get gifts!!!
Claudia
Emily
Madi
Bo
Stone
Sidney
Damien
Annabelle
Patrick
Cameron
Charlotte
This is the hardest part, getting gifts. I know what to get most of them, but there are a few that just are so easy to please, it’s difficult…I’ve got so much to do in the next few weeks I may just lose my mind.

6 Responses

  1. Breathe momma! Breathe!!! :)

  2. Ahhh so exciting! You’re almost there! I know the back pain sucks, but it’s almost done. Maybe try lying on your side and deep breathing. I have no idea I read that in my nursing book, but never experienced it first hand. Good luck and hang in there!

  3. Aww. Hang in there sweetie! You can do it!

    Has your (one of your many?) doctors prescribed you any pain meds? They really should. If they haven’t you should whine and whine and irritate the hell out of them until they do. If they have, and it doesn’t help? Hugs. I know how it feels. I really do.

    Love ya!

    ps- being prepared is almost completely impossible. Guess what we forgot to get for this last baby? Which I didn’t even realize until after having her? No crib. Whatsoever. So you can feel secure that you are probably far more prepared than I ever thought about being.

    • No pain meds :( Maybe I’m not whining enough…I’ll have to start doing that. It’s getting really unbearable. :((

      • I never would’ve figured you would say no.

        WTF. OVER.

        Tell someone you need something for pain and if you don’t get it you’re going to go ape-shit. Not really. Just tell them you are in a lot of pain and beg. They’ll usually give you something like Tylenol 3 (Acetaminophen with Codeine). It doesn’t help tremendously, but some relief is worth it right?

Leave a Reply

