Overflowing and overwhelming

My heart started hurting yesterday morning. I was sitting on the couch and Caitlin crawled into my lap because she wanted to cuddle. It was early, not nap time, not any time, she just wanted to cuddle.

That’s when it happened.

My heart started hurting.

It started breaking.
It started snapping.
It couldn’t contain all the love inside it.
It started leaking out into the rest of my body, no longer contained, just overwhelming.

Overwhelming love.
Love so uncontrollable I couldn’t have let her go if I wanted to.
Love so strong I was willing to breath my last breathe if it made her giggle.
Love so unconditional I knew there wasn’t anything in this world I wouldn’t do for her.

Overwhelming love.
Love that I was so worried I wouldn’t have enough of to share between my husband, our dog and our children.
Love that just suddenly made it’s appearance.
Love that needed somewhere to go, somewhere to get to.

My heart is too small for all this love, every bit of it I feel, I need to give it to someone. There aren’t enough people in my life to give it to. I only hope that when Kinley is born, he will be that missing heart that I need, even if only for a little while.

My heart hurts from overwhelming love.

One Response

  1. Wow, that was beautiful. I could totally relate. As moms, I think this heart thing is a chronic condition.

Leave a Reply

