Happy birthday to me….

Today is my birthday. I’m 23 years old. I think. I’m about 95% positive, but to be honest, I don’t remember right now. I had a long post set up to post yesterday about my 36 week check up the day before. The reason it didn’t go up? Well, it wasn’t scheduled, I was just going to post it in the morning, but now, it’s a moot point as Chris would say.

On Thursday I had my 36 week check up and was 1 cm dilated, 50% effaced and was sent to the hospital to get an ultrasound done for fetal non-stress test. He hadn’t moved very much all day and his head was very low when she was doing my check, so she just wanted to see what was going on. So it was day number two in the hospital.

He passed his NST, just barely however. He was not willing to move, but he could have been just sleeping at the time. But his heart rate was good and contractions didn’t have any sort of pattern so they sent me home after getting the results. This is exactly what happened with Caitlin. I went in for a NST due to lack of movement at my 36 week check up and was sent home. Only big difference was, with her, they told me I wouldn’t be making it past the weekend and I’d be back in that night or the next morning. I was back in that night. They didn’t tell me anything like that this time. I was 36 weeks and 3 days with her. With Kinley, I was 35 weeks and 5 days.

I went home and relaxed the best I could, but I was nauseous and tired from spending two days in hospitals, and as I may have mentioned, hospitals make me really sleepy. But here’s where it gets fun.

We went to bed at 11 pm, and snuggled in getting ready for one more day of work and then a day of fun and family time celebrating my birthday. First, was supposed to be sleeping in and chocolate chip-blueberry pancakes with strawberry’s on top. People have told me this sounds disgusting, but it’s really quite the most delicious breakfast in the world. Then the mall to walk around and finally dinner at Outback with my parents. Instead, I woke up on Friday at 2 am with not terribly painful, but terribly uncomfortable contractions. I rolled around bed for exactly 6 minutes before I had one painful enough to get me out of bed and get some Tylenol and water.

Didn’t work. So I rolled around in bed for another few minutes before heading into the bathroom to walk around and cringe because I didn’t want to wake Chris up; he had to work in a few hours. So I just walked around our bathroom screaming every now and then, and twitting my anger and hate at my husband for doing this to me. Finally, after about a half hour of that fun time, I got in the bathtub, HOPING it would slow it down and take away the pain. It didn’t. In fact, shortly after getting in the bathtub I screamed for Chris, not sure why, just instinctual I guess. He came running in and then questioned why I was in the bathtub…it became very apparent a few minutes later as I was screaming in pain.

We called the on-call, but she told me to time them…yea, there was no way that was happening because they were coming too quickly and too painfully to even remember how to read a clock. She also told me to wait two-three more hours, that wasn’t happening either. After ten minutes of me alternating between screaming and saying “I can do this, I can wait two more hours,” Chris made the decision that it was time to go. He got in the shower, got the baby ready with a bottle of milk and then came back and washed my hair for me. I couldn’t concentrate on more than one thing at a time, so it was either concentrate on the contraction, standing, or washing my hair. I picked contraction.

So, we were ready and called my mom to meet us, I needed her there. I didn’t realize how much I needed my dad too. He came along to help with Caitlin, but he provided a lot of support, making me smile and reminding me I could do this, even if I didn’t get an epidural.

We got to the ER around 430 and were quickly whisked up into a triage room where they didn’t even bother getting me into a gown or getting a urine sample, just gave me a check. I was already 7 cm dilated. By 5 am ,we were in a birthing room and my parents had joined us. This shit was happening, and now.

The next hour and a half sucked. Sucked horrible. The contractions were coming fast and hard, every minute and were incredibly painful. Caitlin was tired, but wonderfully good and behaving awesomely. She was such a champ, I’m so lucky she is such a wonderful little girl. Mom and Chris were on either side of me, holding hands when needed, reminding me to breath. It took three nurses and about a dozen tries to get an IV in and started. At 630, IV was started, my blood work results were good and I had an epidural in. Love. I had one done with Caitlin, but it took several tries to get in. By several, I mean about seven. And even then, it took the edge off of the contractions, but I felt everything during delivery. I was so disappointed. This time it worked beautifully. Once it was in, by my second contraction, I could feel the edge coming off, then everything disappeared, just tingling. It was beautiful. They finally checked me again at about 930 and I was a full ten. I didn’t even realize it. The nurse asked me if I wanted to start pushing or wait a little longer. It didn’t matter to her. It didn’t matter to me either.

We started at roughly 945, and by 958 and three sets of three pushes (so a total of nine), Kinley Aiden Smith was here in all his 6 lbs 10 oz 18 inches glory. I didn’t feel shit. I couldn’t even tell if I was pushing and I couldn’t lift my left foot. I just kept laughing and laughing and asking if I was pushing. “Yes,” they would tell me “You’re doing wonderful.”

He’s lovely, just like his sister. He nurses wonderfully, which is a dream and is cuddly and enjoys his own space at the same time. I think he has his Uncle Steven’s very distinct nose and the ears my dad has graced me, my sister, and Caitlin with. He has Caitlin’s kissable lips, which they both get from me, but his daddy’s long fingers and feet, although they are not as big as Caitlin’s were. He came out with dark hair, but over the past 24 hours, he is getting to come into his name, which means “fair-haired viking.” His hair is getting lighter and lighter, and he is so strong.

Caitlin is very curious, loving, and worried about him. But she is also very jealous when it comes to nursing, so we’ll be working on that. She’s a lovely big sister, and a lovely daughter. And he is a lovely son. Chris stayed last night and Caitlin had her first sleepover with my sister and brother-in-law. Tonight my family will be coming over to celebrate my birthday with cake and love.  Once everyone leaves, Kinley and I will be on our own, Caitlin will be with her proud daddy. Everyone is happy and exhausted and excited.

Today is my birthday, I share it with one of my nieces, and if Kinley would have waited just a few more hours, I would have  with my son. But, he is still an absolutely wonderful early birthday present. Happy Birthday Kinley.

3 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday!

    You know what you should do?

    Make 2 wishes about things you want to happen in this next year of your life.

    I hope only 1 of them comes true, so you always have something to strive towards.

    I don’t know you as well as I’d like.

    Let’s change that, yeah? :)

  2. That’s so, so wonderful. Sorry for all the pain but glad everything went well. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

