Still in transitional mode

I woke up this morning with the worst stomach ache. I’m sure it’s from stress, but that doesn’t make it suck any less. You know what does make it suck less? Oh, that’s right, absolutely nothing. Since we’re not taking 90% of our old belongings it makes the move easier, but we still have a ton of shit we haven’t collected up, like pots and pans, and lots of Caitlin’s toys and the likes. But the babies’ room is just about cleared out, and that’s what’s important to me. All that’s left in there is some of their clothes that’s hanging up and the toddler bed, which will probably be moved tonight.

We slept there for the first time last night, since the crib had been moved there. I refused to sleep in either house without the crib in an attempt to make the transition easier for Caitlin. July was a month of just HUGE changes for her and I didn’t want to make it worse by forcing her to sleep in the pack-and-play. But last night she did wonderfully, it was probably because she was so exhausted by the time we put her to bed. She only woke up once, right before my brother got off duty, but fell asleep rather quickly once Chris went and gave her some milk. I’m pretty proud of how well she’s handled everything that’s been happening, with the arrival of Kinley and now a move, she’s a champ. In fact, once everything is finished and settled, Chris and I are planning to do something special for us as a family, like a trip to the zoo or the beach since we haven’t been able to do anything like that this summer. That’s what I’m looking forward to the most.

Today I’m at the old house waiting for a package to arrive before heading out to meet Chris. If it comes early enough, then I’ll be moving some small stuff on my own, along with fixing up the babies’ room some more. I’m hoping we’ll be done with all this this week and finishing getting settled in this weekend so the weekend after we make our zoo/beach trip.

And it’s these times you’re reminded of how wonderful your family is. As we’re driving to Ikea yesterday Chris says to me, out of the blue, “you have a really good family” and the only way I could respond was “I know.” Because I do know. We lived for years where all we had was each other. We rarely lived near grandparents, aunts and uncles or cousins, and I never did. It was always just us, and each other, regardless of whatever was happening, we stuck by each other, and we still stick by each other. No matter what we go through, Chris and I know we always have a place to turn to, whether it’s my parents or any one of my siblings. I’m thankful for them. I’m thankful I got to grow up with them. I’m thankful they are still close. I’m thankful for who they are.

And the family, last time I checked/Was a group of people who give you love/When you least expect-“A (With Love)” by Stephen Kellogg and the Sixers

One Response

  1. Oh god, don’t make me cry. That quote was it for me, now I am a blubbering mess. A family is simply love, unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

