Didn’t expect that kind of day at all

Remember yesterday when I posted that Sunday was a day of awesomeness? How everything was right in the world and it was full of unicorns and rainbows? That we decided against re-homing Linux and, instead, fill my days with more poop, but it’s okay, because I’m pretty sure dog poop is actually fresh baked sugar cookies and gold coins? (Okay, I didn’t really put that, but it was implied) (Okay, it wasn’t) I was all super relaxed and happy and wonderful and my skin was clear and my hair was shiny and I didn’t look like Justin Beiber right out of the shower.

Yea, that post.

Well, as it turns out? Sunday? It was just preparing me for Monday.

Yesterday was the really sucky kind of bad day, where you wake up in a super good mood and the badness sneaks up on you and pulls the rug out from under your feet. It was the kind of day where you don’t take a shower until 630, and even when finally get the opportunity to, you seriously debate even bothering doing so because you’re just so exhausted. The kind of day where you are so thankful to have an electric toothbrush because it’s too much effort to manually brush your teeth. That’s the kind of day I had.

I did not expect the day to drag on the way it did, or for it to be so difficult. I was not anticipating Kinley’s (undiagnosed) reflux to act up horribly, covering his pajamas, Caitlin’s swing and me in spit-up. Nor was I anticipating Linux not allowing the other dogs (because, oh by the way, we’re dog sitting my brother Chris’ dog, Diva, for two weeks) to eat or Roxy diving into a wheelbarrow of mud, not once, but three times. The latter resulting in two bathes and a toss in the pool for her and an extremely dirty kitchen for me. The thought of being nipped at by Linux, or Caitlin being knocked down several times while the dogs ran past didn’t cross my mind at all, and I would have never guessed that Caitlin would dump over the dogs’ water bowls SIX times. Or that she would drink out of them, resulting in dog hair all in her mouth and her coming to me coughing and gasping and needing her mouth rinsed out.

No, I didn’t expect that to be my day at all, but that’s the kind of day I had. And at the end of the day, when I finally took my shower at 630, the water that ran off of me was just brown with mud and little white spit up chunks. And also? I’m still waiting on my fresh baked sugar cookies and gold coins.

2 Responses

  1. It’s the “circle of life”! But, trust me when I tell you that these are the really EASY days. A time will come when you will faLl down on your knees and pray to God to bring you back to these days. It’s hard to imagine, I know, but mark my words…

  2. I agree with dad and I haven’t quite reached the bad days yet but it’s just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

