One child will be a little person, the other will be the world’s largest man

You know what’s going awesomely? Breastfeeding Kinley. Homeboy is eleven pounds. ELEVEN. Now, that may not seem like a huge baby to you, but let me put it into my perspective. At ten weeks, Caitlin was  eight pounds, steady. Even now, at eighteen months, she’s barely pushing 21. Kinley is a monster, and I have a feeling it has something to do with the fact that he will not let my boob exit his mouth longer than a half hour at a time. He probably doesn’t nurse for about 2 hours a day, I’m not even exaggerating.

You know what’s not going well? Potty training. Well, it’s not that it’s going poorly. It’s just not going. Like I may have mentioned, I have no clue what I’m doing. I let her run around in her nudey pants a couple of times, but both times resulted in her peeing on the floor. I’m just struggling with trying to determine if she’s ready. Part of me feels like she is, but a bigger part of me knows she’s still a baby. And so, potty chair sees very little action right now.

I’m also starting to get worried that she may need speech therapy. Now, I know there is nothing wrong with speech therapy, and I’m seriously, probably over-reacting to her babbling and sporadic use of words other than “mommy”, “dada”, and “hewwo der,” but I can’t help it. Her doctor told me yesterday that it’s okay and that she just wants to do her own and will learn on her own time. That doesn’t stop me from worrying when her words are a less less than intelligible, or the fact that she has no interest in her belly, head or nose. I know I shouldn’t be as worried about it as I am, she communicates very well, and I do speak Caitlin, never mind the fact she is a mini-genius, but I just worry. It’s in my nature as a mother.

And yes, she is a mini-genius. Even with her poor talking skills and non-existent potty skills.

4 Responses

  1. Eh, let the potty chair get a bit of rest. It’ll happen soon enough – no need to worry yourself over it. You’re doing great.

  2. no stress momma! 18 months is super young to potty train! you got lots of time! keep up the bfing and don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it! :)

Leave a Reply

