This started out with a purpose but jumps around erratically

Can someone explain to me why I’m so madly in love with Andrew Bird? And this episode of Jack’s Big Music Show introduced him to me, so it is my favorite…

Anyway.

Here are a few of my favorite things:

  • Andrew Bird
  • Babies
  • My babies
  • Kittens
  • Puppies
  • The tears of my enemies (delicious)
  • Amusement Parks
  • Halloween

I love amusement parks. I love everything about amusement parks. I love the rides, the shows, the overpriced food, and the over-all cheesiness of tons of the attractions. I don’t even mind the ridiculous lines. I love it. And the fact that we live only 15 minutes from one of Virginia’s top (and only) amusement parks. Priceless.

In fact, in the summer of 2006 I worked there, and it was pretty awesome. Except some bull crap involving a guy that I dated who was a manager of my department and my parents hating him. But let’s be honest, I only dated him to “rebel” from my parents. I didn’t even like him that much. Once they were like, “okay, we’ll try and like him,” I dumped him. I was 19, give me a break.

Anyway.

So, I worked in the game’s department of this amusement park when I was 19 and I was so effing good at it. And I loved it because, oh em gee, I was working in an amusement park! I got in free! I got free tickets for friends and family! And I got a “discount” on the already overpriced food! But I only lasted one summer, because let’s face it, it wasn’t all that and a bag of chips, and by the next summer, I was working at the greatest job I’ve ever had, which was Best Buy. Which continually tries to suck me back in with it’s “NOW HIRING PART TIME EMPLOYEES” signs on the front doors.

None of that has anything to do with this post, but I keep getting distracted.

I also love, love, love Halloween. Greatest holiday ever. I wish I was born on Halloween. It has everything that makes me, me. Candy, scaring people, being scared, dressing up in slutty outfits and making out with complete strangers in costumes, plus it’s the only time of the year Chris only has a small fit about me possibly using a Ouija board. Ah-mazing. And I love that, for Halloween, amusement parks tend to do something before closing down for the year. Oh, it makes me all tingly and excited thinking about Halloween and amusement parks.

This past weekend, Chris, myself, my parents, my brother Patrick, and a selection of my nieces and nephews (the ones who could come) all went to King’s Dominion for it’s Halloween Haunt. None of the kids wanted to do a haunted house except for Annabelle and Baby Pat; Madison, Sidney, and Cameron were having none of it. They just wanted to ride rides. At 700pm we went up to the front to watch the releasing of monsters by the Under Lord. Oh. My. Glorious. God. I thought my nieces and nephews were going to shit themselves. The only brave one was Baby Pat, which is significantly surprising, but he did awesome.

After riding some rides, tricking them into doing a haunted ride, and convincing them to do a haunted house, every body but Chris and I went home. We had wanted to ride the newest ride the park had to offer again, after nearly blacking out on it the first time we rode it.

So all of that to finally get to the meat of the story.

It’s dark, and foggy, with people running left and right to try and escape the costumed monsters. We’re walking, talking, laughing through the Carnaevil area, when out of the corner of my eye, I see what seems to be a child walking in the opposite direction. I don’t think much of it, except, “why is this eight year old walking around by himself?”

I’m not paying much attention, when suddenly I realize, this is not a child. It’s a midget. Dressed as a clown. And as I realize this, he jumps at me and yells menacingly.

I don’t get scared super easily, except at things like ghosts and the world ending. The costumed characters do nothing for me, but I love them because they are so damned cool looking. But have you ever been yelled at by a little person dressed as a clown?? Let me tell you, I nearly jumped out of my skin.

Oh. Em. Gee. It was quite possibly one of the greatest experiences of my life. Biggest regret? Being too freaked out to think of getting a picture taken with him. I wish I had proof of this encounter, instead of just a memory.

2 Responses

  1. Man, I love this post.

    And the tears of your enemies. (delicious indeed)

  2. KLZ and I are on the same wave length today because I was also going to mention tears of your enemies being awesome ;)

    Thanks for the morning smiles and giggles I got from this post!

Leave a Reply

