Writer’s Workshop: I’m a horrible wife.

So, after a long hiatus from the writer’s workshop, I found a prompt that just called to me…

The biggest Halloween trick (or prank) that you’ve ever pulled.

Mama's Losin' It

So this wasn’t exactly a Halloween trick, it was an April Fool’s day prank, so just roll with me here. I’m allowed to break the rules a little.

It was April 1st, 2010 and I’m pregnant with Kinley. In fact, I had actually just had a doctor’s appointment that day, if I’m remembering the sequence of events correctly. The appointment was for my 20 week gender determination scan. Woo hoo!! Chris couldn’t be there with me since he now works in Richmond and my doctor is in Fredericksburg, so the idea of him tagging along was just…not possible.

I went, got the scan and left with my mom, down to go get her nails done. On the way down, I called a couple of times with no answer. It wasn’t until I was waiting for a call back that it occurred to me. It’s April Fool’s Day. Oh. My. The prank gods just threw this perfect opportunity in my lap and I had to take it.

I told my mom, “I’m going to tell Chris I’m going into labor…”
She laughed and said, “No! He’ll leave work and then be pissed. Tell him you’re having twins.”

Oh. My. My mom is a genius. YES! It’s perfect.

Finally, Chris called back, eagerly waiting for the news.

“It’s boys!”
“It’s a boy!?”
“No, boyS. Apparently, there was another little heartbeat hiding behind the other one. We’re having TWINS!”
*Silence*
“Chris?”
“Are you serious?”
“Yes!! Aren’t you excited??”
“I’m getting snipped…”

We talked for a few more minutes and kept asking if I was serious, and I convinced him that I was (I’m an amazing actress and it took all my skill not to burst out laughing). He told his boss, his friend and then called his mom. Who reminded him that it was April Fool’s Day. And he called me back.

“Is this an April Fool’s joke?”
“What if I told you it was…?”
“Oh my god. I hate you.”

He then proceeded to get angry and bitch me out (homeboy can’t take a joke). And we don’t speak for the rest of the day. When he gets home, I’m on the verge of tears because the shit was funny whether or not he thinks so, and he’s pissed. He’s laughing.
“April Fool’s!!”

Oh. Ha ha ha. Very funny. Asshat.

9 Responses

  1. Naw, you’re not a bad wife…that was funny!

    (Stopping by from Mama Kat)

  2. Hee hee…you said Asshat.

    Also that is hilarious. I’d love to pull that with hubs…if we ever decide we’re going to have another…or 2…hee hee

  3. Oh that was funny but you probably deserved the retribution! :) My husband would freak if I told him that too!

  4. LOL!! That has to be the best April Fools Joke ever! I thought about that but since the husband was there with me I couldn’t pull it off!

  5. ROTFL! This is GREAT! I did this April 1st 2007, but I had the benefit of working at a vet office on the weekend when no one was around… that had a sonogram machine! I think we scanned a TV dinner or a few puppies or something and told my hubby it was triplets. He was NOT amused when he found out it was an April Fools joke. But we’re still married, so….
    if youre a bad wife, so am I.
    lol

  6. That’s so funny! My hubby would freak! I’ll have to remember that if I get pregnant again. ;)

  7. LMAO asshat is funny no matter who you are! and i agree it would gave been hilarious!

  8. that is awesome! i don’t think i could have pulled it off nearly as well :)

  9. Ilove doing this kind of stuff. It cracks me up!

Leave a Reply

