Reason number 1 I’m not a fan of “the season”

I’ve mentioned before I don’t care too much for the holiday season.

It’s just a big mess to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a lot of holidays, but the “holiday season” is just a long, dragged out hooplah to me.

Although many people consider it beginning at Halloween, which is ABSOLUTELY AWESOME. But after Halloween, it has it’s highs and lows. Namely Thanksgiving. Boring. Nothing good. No candy. At least Christmas has presents and New Year’s Eve has chocolate and cheese fondue.

Growing up, the holiday season was always a bittersweet experience (except Thanksgiving because, like I said, nothing good came out of that) for me. We got awesome goodies, but for a price. All day there was much to do, always so much to do. Much cleaning and helping out. I absolutely detested it.

Ugh, there was just so much to do. And being the youngest? Eventually all my siblings trickled out…and there was only me. For a time.

Even if it was only family, the house was required to be spotless. Yes, I understand this, but it doesn’t make it suck any less.

One of the biggest perks about being married for me?

Never ever being required to help out during the holidays.

And the biggest perk about being in my family?

Never ever being required/expected to host the holidays.

If my parents were ever to decide to just pack up and vacation for the holidays, we would be so screwed. I don’t think any of my siblings really want to ever do that. We enjoy spending those evenings and dinners together, but we don’t ever want to have to deal with what is required of it on our own. My mom makes a glorious spread and no one, and I mean no one, can ever top what she does for Christmas. So if she were ever to just say “eff it, figure it out for yourselves”? We’d probably be going to a restaurant for Christmas Eve dinner reminiscent of the scene from The Santa Clause where Tim Allen takes his son to Denny’s.

All the while silently crying into our moons over my hammy and grand slams.

My kids would hate Christmas Eve if I was in charge so they better hope my mom doesn’t turn into a snowbird in her old age. Because seriously? We would be so screwed. And they have no idea how lucky they are because they don’t have to help with preparation.

Happy holidays everyone, I hope it’s safe and merry and free of too much traffic. See you Monday!

2 Responses

  1. I want cheese fondue…maybe I need to come hang with you

Leave a Reply

