A letter to my children

My darling little ones,

Every time I look at you, you impress me with new knowledge, new skills. I see you teach yourself how to play, and watch as you attempt to sit up and crawl; climb and balance. My daredevils.

As this year comes to an end, I can only think of what the next year will bring us. Many more adventures for our family, many more good times than we have had in recent times, many more silent wishes I keep in my heart.

I wish for you to learn without much difficulty.
I wish you success in everything you want to do.
I wish small failures to keep you growing and learning.
I wish for you to never feel you must earn acceptance from anyone.
I wish for you to feel the love we have for you, and to never doubt it.
I wish you never have more troubles than your heart can carry.
But if you ever do, I wish you the strength to realize you are stronger than you think.
I wish for you to find a partner who truly loves you for everything you are, because that’s all that matters to me.
I wish that these difficult years don’t linger in your heart negatively, but instead teach you the ability to be creative when it’s needed.
I wish you happiness, even when times are bad.
I wish you health.
I wish for you to always know you are so loved. So very loved.

When times are bad, I hope you know we will always be here for you.
When your heart is breaking, I hope you know it will be a temporary pain.
When money is tight, I hope you know there is always a way to survive.

There is little you could do to make me disappointed. There is nothing you could do that will make me turn my back on you. You two are my heart, my soul, my world, my everything, and I hope you grow up never doubting that for a second.

When the sun has set, and the moon rises high above you at night, darkening the world around you, I hope the brightness you keep in your heart lights your way.

My little darlings, there is so much love in my heart for you. You are the greatest gifts I’ve ever been given. You are the greatest people I have ever had the honor of knowing. And I am excited to discover what this new year will bring us, together, as a family.

I love you my little darlings.

Leave a Reply

