The play place

Saturday afternoon was my sister’s baby shower.

Since it was over by 430 or so, Chris and I decided to go to the mall to waste some time before heading home.

When we got there, we decided to let Caitlin play at the play park so she can get some excess energy from seeing her cousins out so bedtime would be simple enough. Usually, I don’t want her playing in those things on the weekends for the simple fact that it is sheer insanity, but Chris was with me and she was so good at the baby shower, so what the heck?

Now, I’m not a stickler for rules when they are made for my safety. But when they are made for my kids safety? Oh, you better damn believe we are following.

No shoes? Fine, even if her shoes are only pieces of fabric because she doesn’t wear hard soles.

Maximum height is 48″? Totally chill.

So, why is it that there was a 13-year-old girl wearing sneakers chasing another little girl around and telling other little kids that they can’t play in certain toys because she and her friend were?

What the fuck, parents?

Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’m the only person in the world who finds this absolutely unnecessary. Maybe I’m the only person who wouldn’t let their 13-year-old become dictator of a young child’s play place.

She wasn’t playing with her young sister, she was playing with a little girl who she had met there. If she was playing calmly or whatever, it wouldn’t be a big deal, but the fact of the matter was she was running and collided, not once, but twice with my little girl. And neither times did she stop, apologize, or check if she was okay. She just kept plowing through the other toddlers.

What the fuck, parents?

Luckily for us, Caitlin is pretty indestructible when she is playing so she didn’t even notice. But to me, it’s rude and inconsiderate to the other parents and children there.

Am I alone here? Am I the only one who thinks that the rules are there for the safety of our kids and should be followed accordingly? I just don’t know, I feel like I may be. Or maybe just the only one in the area we live.

4 Responses

  1. Ifit were my child watching her siblings MAYBE I could be ok with it. But just romping around with a stranger? No way

    • Yes, playing with a sibling one thing as long as you’re not trampling around. Playing with a stranger and being an all out Godzilla? Not cool.

  2. I agree completely. We live like 2 blocks away from a mall with a play place and utilize it often. Parents are insensitive and rude in lots of arenas, but for some reason malls seem worse.

    • We’re getting ready to move 5 minutes away from this mall and I would love to be able to enjoy that, but with so many parents just being disrespectful for the other parents, it makes me hesitant.

Leave a Reply

